Normally in OpenSSL EC groups always have a co-factor present and this is
used in side channel resistant code paths. However, in some cases, it is
possible to construct a group using explicit parameters (instead of using a
named curve). In those cases it is possible that such a group does not have
the cofactor present. This can occur even where all the parameters match a
known named curve. If such a curve is used then OpenSSL falls back to
non-side channel resistant code paths which may result in full key recovery
during an ECDSA signature operation. In order to be vulnerable an attacker
would have to have the ability to time the creation of a large number of
signatures where explicit parameters with no co-factor present are in use
by an application using libcrypto. For the avoidance of doubt libssl is not
vulnerable because explicit parameters are never used. Fixed in OpenSSL
1.1.1d (Affected 1.1.1-1.1.1c). Fixed in OpenSSL 1.1.0l (Affected
1.1.0-1.1.0k). Fixed in OpenSSL 1.0.2t (Affected 1.0.2-1.0.2s).
mdeslaurcode isn't compiled into edk2
Source: edk2 (LP Ubuntu Debian)
Ubuntu 12.04 ESM (Precise Pangolin):DNE
Ubuntu 14.04 ESM (Trusty Tahr):DNE
Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (Xenial Xerus):not-affected (code not built)
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (Bionic Beaver):not-affected (code not built)
Ubuntu 19.10 (Eoan Ermine):not-affected (code not built)
Ubuntu 20.04 LTS (Focal Fossa):not-affected (code not built)
Ubuntu 20.10 (Groovy Gorilla):not-affected (code not built)
Ubuntu 12.04 ESM (Precise Pangolin):DNE
Ubuntu 14.04 ESM (Trusty Tahr):not-affected (uses system openssl)
Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (Xenial Xerus):not-affected (uses system openssl)
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (Bionic Beaver):not-affected (uses system openssl1.0)
Ubuntu 19.10 (Eoan Ermine):not-affected (uses system openssl1.1)
Ubuntu 20.04 LTS (Focal Fossa):not-affected (uses system openssl1.1)
Ubuntu 20.10 (Groovy Gorilla):not-affected (uses system openssl1.1)
Upstream:released (1.1.1d)
Ubuntu 12.04 ESM (Precise Pangolin):released (1.0.1-4ubuntu5.44)
Ubuntu 14.04 ESM (Trusty Tahr):released (1.0.1f-1ubuntu2.27+esm1)
Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (Xenial Xerus):released (1.0.2g-1ubuntu4.16)
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (Bionic Beaver):released (1.1.1-1ubuntu2.1~18.04.6)
Ubuntu 19.10 (Eoan Ermine):released (1.1.1c-1ubuntu4.1)
Ubuntu 20.04 LTS (Focal Fossa):released (1.1.1d-2ubuntu1)
Ubuntu 20.10 (Groovy Gorilla):released (1.1.1d-2ubuntu1)
Upstream:;a=commitdiff;h=21c856b75d81eff61aa63b4f036bb64a85bf6d46 (1.0.2)
Upstream:;a=commitdiff;h=7c1709c2da5414f5b6133d00a03fc8c5bf996c7a (1.1.0)
Upstream:;a=commitdiff;h=30c22fa8b1d840036b8e203585738df62a03cec8 (1.1.1)
Ubuntu 12.04 ESM (Precise Pangolin):DNE
Ubuntu 14.04 ESM (Trusty Tahr):DNE
Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (Xenial Xerus):DNE
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (Bionic Beaver):needs-triage
Ubuntu 19.10 (Eoan Ermine):DNE
Ubuntu 20.04 LTS (Focal Fossa):DNE
Ubuntu 20.10 (Groovy Gorilla):DNE
More Information

Updated: 2020-07-09 18:14:24 UTC (commit 9cbaa22871fb6b0e4e93a9ea47ddb5471aedf39f)